User Menu Shopping Bag Cross
Free UK Delivery On All Orders
Extended Xmas Returns
Worldwide Express Shipping

Woods & Stricker thrashed in Presidents Cup

Nike Golf’s Tiger Woods suffered the biggest matchplay defeat of his career as Adam Scott and KJ Choi hammered him and Steve Stricker 7&6 in the Presidents Cup at Royal Melbourne.

The defeat equalled the biggest-ever losing margin in the history of the tournament.

It was the first time Woods had faced his former caddie Steve Williams, since Williams admitted his comments about Wood’s this month could be "construed as racist"

Despite the loss, the United States still lead 4-2 after day one of the event.

Woods and Williams who ended their player and caddy relationship in June shook hands on the first tee.

The former world number one failed to register a single birdie in the foursomes.

"They got off to a quick start, and we just couldn't keep up," said Woods.

"We kept falling to the wrong side of these slopes. The golf course is so difficult, it's hard to make up shots."

South African David Frost beat American Kenny Perry by the same deficit in 1996.

Woods and Stricker won all four of their matches at the previous Presidents Cup two years ago. But they couldn’t repeat that form as they only hit four fairways and six greens on Thursday.

However, it was only win of the day for the Internationals.

The Americans' opening pair of Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson put the first point of the day on the board their team mates as they beat South African veteran Ernie Els and Japan's Ryo Ishikawa 6&4.

Dustin Johnson and Matt Kuchar came back from three down with six holes to play to earn an unlikely halve against Aaron Baddeley and Jason Day.

The experienced pairing of Phil Mickelson and Jim Furyk won 4&3 over Retief Goosen and Robert Allenby.

Oakleys Geoff Ogilvy and Masters champion Charl Schwartzel lost a late two-hole lead and had to settle for a halve against Bill Haas and Nick Watney.

Hunter Mahan and David Toms stormed to a 6&5 victory over Korean duo of KT Kim and YE Yang.

Back to Listing